Photo

Beach fire regulations in Victoria, Sooke, Merchosin and Greater Victoria

• Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 WestCoaster

WestCoaster
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 July 2011 - 01:51 PM

I'm relatively new to the Greater Victoria area and have been seearching for information on where I can legally build a small beach or "camp" fire to roast marshmallows etc. without having to camp overnight. I'm from up-Island where this is not an issue - beach fires are legal and it's pretty commonplace. From what I can tell here it's the opposite! The CRD and municipalties seem to be pretty opposed to the idea.

Anyone know of spots on a beach/lake etc that I can show my son the joys of smores! Not a party place....

#2 sebberry

sebberry

Resident Housekeeper

• 21,503 posts
  • LocationVictoria

Posted 07 July 2011 - 02:01 PM

I'm relatively new to the Greater Victoria area and have been seearching for information on where I can legally build a small beach or "camp" fire to roast marshmallows etc. without having to camp overnight. I'm from up-Island where this is not an issue - beach fires are legal and it's pretty commonplace. From what I can tell here it's the opposite! The CRD and municipalties seem to be pretty opposed to the idea.

Anyone know of spots on a beach/lake etc that I can show my son the joys of smores! Not a party place....

Esquimalt Lagoon (which is actually in Colwood) is a nice place and I believe fires are permitted there, providing you obtain a permit...

er.. wait...

Just read:

The City of Colwood realizes the growing importance of creating a healthier community and reducing its impact on the environment. Improving air quality is beneficial to the environment, and more importantly, it contributes to the health and well being of our citizens.