Photo

Simon Nattrass | Victoria | Council

• Please log in to reply
106 replies to this topic

#1 Joseph

Joseph
  • 80 posts

Posted 07 June 2008 - 10:10 PM

Victoria now has its second mayoral candidate - and he's 19. I heard this on Check today, but I didn't catch his name. Anyone know more about him?

#2 martini

martini
  • 2,670 posts

Posted 07 June 2008 - 11:55 PM

Victoria now has its second mayoral candidate - and he's 19. I heard this on Check today, but I didn't catch his name. Anyone know more about him?

CFAX website:

VICTORIA TEENAGER TO RUN FOR MAYOR

Jun 6, 2008

JUST ONE DAY AFTER VICTORIA COUNCIL MEMBER DEAN FORTIN ANNOUNCED HE'S RUNNING FOR MAYOR THIS FALL, A SECOND CANDIDATE HAS STEPPED FORWARD.

19-YEAR-OLD SIMON NATTRESS WORKS AT A LOCAL REAL ESTATE PUBLICATION AS A PRODUCTION ASSISTANT.

NATTRESS IS INEXPERIENCED BY HIS OWN ADMISSION -- HE SAYS HE'S UNDERGONE A SELF-TAUGHT POLITICAL EDUCATION OVER THE PAST THREE YEARS.

NATTRESS SAYS HE'S GROWN TIRED OF COMPLAINING ABOUT GOVERNMENT, SO HE'S DECIDED TO RUN HIMSELF.

"MY FIRST PRIORITY IS TO ASSESS THE WANTS AND THE NEEDS OF THE COMMUNITY OF VICTORIA. THIS WILL BE DONE MAINLY THROUGH INTERNET VOTING CAMPAIGNS ON LOCAL ISSUES -- HOPEFULLY THE ESTABLISHMENT OF NEIGHBOURHOOD COUNCILS, AND THAT KIND OF THING."

NATTRESS SAYS HE BELIEVES IN DEMOCRACY, AND TECHNOLOGY, ENOUGH TO HOLD INTERNET VOTES ON COMMUNITY ISSUES -- TO GUIDE LAWMAKERS AT CITY HALL.

NATTRESS KNOWS HIS AGE WORKS AGAINST HIM, SO HE SAYS HE'S LOOKING FOR SOME KEY SUPPORT.

"I'M GOING TO BE CONTACTING SOME FORMER COUNCILORS AND SOME FORMER CANDIDATES FOR MAYOR, ATTEMPTING TO GARNER SOME SUPPORT FROM THEM. JUST BECAUSE OF MY RELATIVE INEXPERIENCE, I'D LIKE TO HAVE SOME MORE -- WELL, I SUPPOSE A GOOD WORD WOULD BE 'CREDIBLE' PEOPLE BEHIND ME, JUST TO GIVE MY WORD A LITTLE BIT MORE WEIGHT."

NATTRESS HAS RELEASED A CAMPAIGN PLATFORM WHICH ADVOCATES USING CITY LAND TO DEVELOP AFFORDABLE RENTAL HOUSING.