Photo

New to Vic - straight answers on candidates?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 knightofstjohn

knightofstjohn
  • 22 posts

Posted 10 November 2008 - 03:05 PM

Hi all,

I'm brand new to victoria, but believe it's very important to exercise one's suffrage rights, and am having a little trouble getting through all the election speak. I've read the posts, seen the candidate's responses to various questions, but it seems like many are reading from the same "I'm being sensitive because it is election time" talking points.

I would consider myself a civil libertarian -- meaning i don't think government has the right to tell citizens what to do with thier person or their property. I admit I am concerned about some of the anti-development rhetoric in relation to homelessness as I think there is a danger of stifling the city's future. Some candidates seem against development in any situation - not in any green spaces, not allowing property owners to replace low income property with new options (what's left?) - and it seems that that would ultimately create a situation where many middle class and above people (due to lack of housing) and eventually businesses (they would follow their customers) would be driven away from the downtown and into the suburbs (I personally think this is bad). Many candidates though seem to be speaking very carefully at risk of offending activists or perhaps just because of the general contentiousness of the issue.

So in short, are there any pro-business, pro-development candidates out there?

Thanks very much for any feedback.

#2 Caramia

Caramia
  • 3,835 posts

Posted 10 November 2008 - 04:11 PM

Welcome to Victoria and to Vibrant Victoria. I don't really know that there are any candidates that fit your description, given the culture of the region. There are some that very definitely do not. I would suggest you check out the following websites:

The Chamber of Commerce
http://www.victoriac...r.ca/elections/