Photo

Books and other historical sources for Victoria; advice, please.

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 godihatethiscity

godihatethiscity
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 December 2008 - 11:40 PM

Hi,
I've been following this board off and on for awhile. I'm not native to Victoria but have lived here for over ten years. Please disregard the member name I chose on here-- I signed up at a, uh, rather negative time in my life. I no longer 'hate' Victoria (I think). :rolleyes:

Basically I'm hoping someone can direct me to very good 'introductory' (as it were) books or other sources on Victoria's history, and in particular its local legends and lore. I'm aware of the archives and the like, but I'm looking for general coverage, more of a starting point. I'm a writer, in the early stages of planning a couple of sci-fi stories which will be set here. My research skills are rusty and free time is limited, thought I check here first and see what I could come up with.

I'm particularly interested in works covering: history of the Chinese in Victoria, especially the leper colony at D'Arcy Island and the story about the Chinese graveyard (the one that got washed out by a huge storm); ghost stories; local archaeology (for ex., the Native village that used to be at Dallas Rd. Waterfront/Beacon Hill); anything covering the weirder side of Victoria's history. Note, it doesn't necessarily have to be 'true' history-- I'm just as interested in urban lore, etc., maybe more so.

Thank you for any help. This board is a great resource, btw, I'm glad it exists.