Photo

Bike lanes In Victoria

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
172 replies to this topic

#1 JLK

JLK
  • 14 posts

Posted 18 October 2006 - 08:29 PM

IMO this obviously hasn't been well thought out. Speeds are now down to between 30K&40K causing increased pollution, driver frustration is climbing through the roof, and for what? A few bikers that use it during the summer months that largely don't respect the rules of the road to begin with?

People are getting mad.

JK

#2 Oxford Sutherland

Oxford Sutherland
  • 522 posts

Posted 18 October 2006 - 08:42 PM

I haven't noticed any difference

#3 Amy Grace

Amy Grace
  • 9 posts

Posted 18 October 2006 - 08:56 PM

I use those lanes almost daily from September to May (I'm out of town in the summer, so I don't use them then). I prefer roads with bikelanes because I don't have to constantly worry about getting sideswiped or run off the road. I am also a driver, so I definitely 'get' how irritating bikers who are totally unpredictable are. However, I'd be really mad if the lanes were taken out.

#4 JLK

JLK
  • 14 posts

Posted 18 October 2006 - 09:02 PM

Maybe because you are retired old fart who travels at 30K and P* off drivers to begin with? :lol:

JK

#5 simon

simon
  • 37 posts

Posted 18 October 2006 - 09:04 PM

Those bike lanes are great. I haven't really noticed the difference when driving, but it is nice when on a bike.

I look forward to seeing them extended all the way down Fort to Foul Bay Rd. Fort from Oak Bay Junction to Foul Bay Rd. isn't a lot of fun as a daily bike commute.

#6 gumgum

gumgum
  • 7,069 posts

Posted 18 October 2006 - 09:05 PM

re: jk
You think Ox's avatar is himself?
Do you think mine is too?

I support the bike lanes. The "traffic" is nothing.

#7 Oxford Sutherland

Oxford Sutherland
  • 522 posts

Posted 18 October 2006 - 09:09 PM

Maybe because you are retired old fart who travels at 30K and P* off drivers to begin with? :lol:

JK