- - - - -

Good place to buy/look for a used car??

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 shylo

shylo
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 April 2010 - 09:11 PM

I'm new to Victoria and I'm a female in my 20's looking for a used car but I'm not sure which places are good or bad etc... and I often feel a bit intimidated by the salespeople because maybe they think they can take advantage of me...

I want something under 6000 dollars, maybe a honda accord or a subaru hatchback.

Just wondering where everyone buys cars here or if there are any dealers that I should avoid or scams to look out for?

Please Help!

Thanks!

#2 Sparky

Sparky

GET OFF MY LAWN

• 13,141 posts

Posted 23 April 2010 - 09:39 PM

Welcome to the forum Shylo.

I would start by spending a week or two searching www.usedvictoria.com and www.victoria.craigslist.ca

This will give you an idea of what you can expect to buy for the money you have to spend. This research will also give you an idea of what kind of cars and colours you might be interested in.

Once you sort out what you want, then go and test drive a few (with no intention of buying)

After all of that you will have a knowledge of prices, models, and CONDITIONS. Then when you see one that you are interested in buying.....here is the important part...take it to a mechanic and get them to check it out. I recommend Searle's or Murray's (they are in the phone book) or I am sure there are others. Most mechanics will steer you away from a mistake.

This should work for a private sale or a "lot sale". If you are unsure, post the details here and someone will hopefully help you.

#3 Layne French

Layne French
  • 355 posts

Posted 24 April 2010 - 05:32 AM

One thing I would suggest is....