Photo

Wilkinson Road Corridor Improvements

• Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 exc911ence

exc911ence
  • 757 posts

Posted 07 January 2017 - 09:42 AM

Wilkinson Road (between Greenlea and Mann) was closed in June 2016 to replace a small bridge and planned to be reopened in November 2016. It remains closed. Checking the internet, I discover that the project is (as of October 2016) "on schedule with project completion identified for February 2017". Doesn't sound like on schedule to me if the completion date has been moved from November to February... unless this is the magical "Island Time" that I hear so much about.

http://www.saanich.c...provements.html

I don't see how a two-lane bridge over a small creek can take the better part of a year to replace, even with "complications" popping up, but then I'm not an engineer, urban planner or seat-moistening government employee. I am a person who watched the city of Ottawa replace major spans of their 8-10 lane divided highway overnight on several occasions (fascinating to observe!) however so I know with proper planning, big projects can be completed with minimal disruption. 

Link to one Ottawa timelapse: http://ottawacitizen...dge-replacement

So, anyone in the know as to why the Wilkinson Road project seems to be crawling like so much molasses in January, or is the simple answer "Because: Victoria"? Their official explanation of "The latest schedule indicates that the road portion of the project will not be opened to traffic until early February 2017. Our original goal was to have the road open to traffic (with minor delays and alternating single lanes during the working day) at the end of November 2016.