UNDER CONSTRUCTION
735 Hillside Avenue
Uses: rental, commercial
Address: 735 Hillside Avenue
Municipality: Victoria
Region: Urban core
Storeys: 6
735 Hillside Avenue is a six-storey, mixed-use purpose-built rental and ground floor commercial complex along ... (view full profile)
Learn more about 735 Hillside Avenue on Citified.ca
Photo

The Scott Building | 2659 Douglas Street & 735 Hillside Avenue | Rentals, office | 6 & 3-storeys

• Please log in to reply
122 replies to this topic

#41 Kapten Kapsell

Kapten Kapsell
  • 3,539 posts

Posted 04 May 2018 - 07:21 AM

I’m not a project costing expert but if they have to seismically upgrade the old building I’m not sure they get enough return here.

If you asked people today where they’d love to live, Douglas, Hillside, Gorge and Government would not be high on many lists. It does not have the appeal of the old Hudson Bay conversion.

Well, given the tight rental market you might see some interest, especially if the rentals are priced competitively.  The location is excellent from both a road and transit perspective (you can easily catch a bus to most to the west shore, downtown, or Saanich peninsula from here, and one can quickly drive over the Bay Street Bridge from this location to reach employers in Vic West and Esquimalt), and it's a short walking distance away from the shopping plaza at Hillside/Blanshard that is home to Boston Pizza, Tim Horton's, etc. 

#42 aastra

aastra
  • 20,650 posts

Posted 04 May 2018 - 08:47 AM

I still think Douglas around Hillside and Bay has the potential to be a really cool neighbourhood if the right redevelopments and preservations happen. For this property I'd rather see a junior highrise building on the parking lot than a lowrise.

• Nparker likes this

#43 VicHockeyFan

VicHockeyFan
  • Suspended User
  • 52,121 posts

Posted 04 May 2018 - 08:50 AM

^