Nick Baker | Victoria | Council

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Mike K.

Mike K.
  • Administrator
  • 83,559 posts

Posted 23 October 2008 - 04:58 PM

Please discuss Nick Baker's candidacy in this thread.

Know it all.
Citified.ca is Victoria's most comprehensive research resource for new-build homes and commercial spaces.

#2 victoriaguy

victoriaguy
  • 71 posts

Posted 27 October 2008 - 02:08 PM

I'm really intrigued by this candidate. He is young, a small-business owner downtown and lives in the downtown core as well.

I read his responses to the Victoria Chamber of Commerce questions and found him to be well-informed.

#3 Caramia

Caramia
  • 3,835 posts

Posted 27 October 2008 - 05:51 PM

From the Victoria Chamber of Commerce website, Nick Baker writes:

I am a resident and small business owner downtown. This makes me quite intimate with our issues around homelessness, drugs, vandalism, and related problems plaguing our downtown.

I was born and raised in Victoria, returning after a few years in Vancouver and Montreal. I have a diploma in Information Technology, working as a computer programmer back east before the DotCom bubble burst. I returned home to further my education, majoring in Sociology at UVic; in 2006, my business partner and I opened our studio in the Upper Fort Street area (Antique Row).

I decided to run for council to give voice to small residents and business owners who are tired of watching their neighbourhoods deteriorate. I feel council has lost the trust of the people from the needle exchange fiasco and other recent scandals, and believe the only way to rectify this is through complete transparency of council and its business.