Examples of trash culture...

• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Gregory Hartnell

Gregory Hartnell
  • 45 posts

Posted 18 November 2006 - 03:23 PM

+++

As a local working artist, I submit that public subsidization of groups such as Swollen Members, Avril Lavigne, World Wide Wrestling, K-os, Snoop Dog, etc. at public venues such as Centennial Square, the new arena, Ship's Point, etc. are simply not in the public interest, and do not advance the growth of local culture in any way.

I hope that answers your question.

+++

#2 Holden West

Holden West

Va va voom!

• 9,058 posts

Posted 18 November 2006 - 04:42 PM

Support of local culture is vital if our role as "Cultural Capital" is to be taken seriously.

But arbitrarily labelling acts that happen to hail from outside the CRD as "trash" is pointlessly judgemental and innaccurate. Gregory, does that mean Torontonians can call Victoria's Nelly Furtado or P.K. Page "trash"? Does a Victorian like Alice Munro that moves away become "trash"? How about a Winnipegger that moves to Victoria like Burton Cummings? Does he lose his "trash" label?

Cultural exposure is a two-way street, Mr. Hartnell. Victorians are enlightened by exposure to artists from around the world. To pretend that only local artists are worthy of exposure at non-private venues is a false tribute--by removing them from the global context it in fact devalues local artists.

To take your argument to its logical conclusion one would be forced to strip the Art Gallery of Greater Victoria of all its excellent examples of non-local historical and contemporary art--a laughable proposition.
"Beaver, ahoy!""The bridge is like a magnet, attracting both pedestrians and over 30,000 vehicles daily who enjoy the views of Victoria's harbour. The skyline may change, but "Big Blue" as some call it, will always be there."
-City of Victoria website, 2009

#3 Lover Fighter

Lover Fighter
  • 653 posts

Posted 18 November 2006 - 06:23 PM